Nimona by Noelle Stevenson (book review) *slight spoilers*

Hey everyone! I hope youā€™re all well~

Itā€™s a bit of a short review today. Today Iā€™m going to be reviewing Nimona by Noelle Stevenson. It will be sort of spoilery as it speaks about one of the end outcomes so if you donā€™t want spoilers, check out some of my non spoiler reviews for other books here, here, here or here.

Letā€™s get onto the review!


Nimona is a short graphic novel about a shapeshifter called Nimona. She wants to be a villain and soon becomes the sidekick of evil villain Lord Ballister Blackheart. Their mission is simple: prove to the kingdom that Sir Ambrosius Goldenloin (yes, thatā€™s his name o_o) and the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics arenā€™t the good guys that everyone believes them to be. But as the mischief and small battles pile up, Lord Blackheart realised that Nimonaā€™s powers are as mysterious as her past. And her unpredictability may be more dangerous than heā€™d like to admitā€¦

This book gave me so many feels. I literally read this in one sitting. It GRIPPED me.

First of all, Nimona is a mood. And sheā€™s brutal at times but it was such a powerful moment when she reconnected with herself. She was also humorous though; a stark contrast to the gloomy and serious environment of the whole novel.

I loved the integration of science with magic and old period setting with new tech. It was shocking at first but I soon grew to like it.

Why canā€™t more novels do that type of mish-mash?

I will admit, this novel a little confusing at times. But that may have just been my struggle to interpret some of the images or dialogue in a situation. Like it would be following one way and suddenly turn a corner that I didnā€™t expect. Like walking down the yellow brick road to Oz but ending up in Hogwarts.

The ending was sweet but I sort of wished that Nimona had stayed with the villain and had a happier ending.

Alsoā€¦

ā€¦Iā€™m a shark.

Which is a reference youā€™ll only get if you read the book so go check it out now! XD


P.S. this book should be available on Amazon or Waterstones but donā€™t forget to support your local bookstore by buying it there, if available.

Thanks for reading!

Until next time,

LeafPages

If you liked this post, please consider following me or buying me a Ko-Fi to support this blog!

Published by LeafPages

I'm a book blogger with an affinity for reading and pretty leaves šŸ

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started